Pilot

This post is me trying to get the feel for the whole blog experience. Farmer’s don’t blog, they farm. I am always up for a new challenge and I would like a place to document our trials and errors, so, this seems only appropriate and Nicole told me to do this.

I am going to include in this post a link back to my facebook page for High On The Hog Farm, because, well it has been my home for the farm and I am working on getting settled here now too.

https://www.facebook.com/High-On-The-Hog-Farm-407328336043475/

I am hoping beyond my Introduction and Pilot post to begin documenting our new adventures.

We recently re-re-located to Oklahoma from Colorado 1/1/16 to purchase property and expand our vision. We sold all of our livestock, buildings and things to pay for the move and get a fresh start and vision. We are originally from Oklahoma and know the land like the back of our hand, so to speak. We fell in love with farming in Colorado, however, for us the short growing seasons and amount of water that is not necessarily readily available seemed unsustainable for our permacultural desires for the region. It made more sense for us to come back home and expand our ideas more sustainably.

As we wait to purchase a much larger plot, we currently reside in a lender home with a backyard the size of a postage stamp…standard size suburbia country home. So, we decided to take advantage of this opportunity to learn all things small. Vertical gardening, red wigglers, meal worms, chickens and microbial bacteria. How to grow as much food as possible on the face of a postage stamp, in a short amount of time.

Yes, we took the photo of the pumpkin, yes, we grew it in Colorado…because you can see the BINDWEED!! Pumpkins do super amazing in Colorado 🙂

This is an eggsciting time, there is no time to waste!!

Here begins our newest journey.

Leave a comment